Reviews · Uncategorized

Review: These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Title: These Broken Stars (Starbound #1)
Author(s): Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner
Publication: December 10th 2013 by Disney Hyperion
Genre: Science Fiction
Source: Library
Rating:five-stars

Summary

It’s a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone. 

Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero who learned long ago that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they’re worth. But with only each other to rely on, Lilac and Tarver must work together, making a tortuous journey across the eerie, deserted terrain to seek help. 

Then, against all odds, Lilac and Tarver find a strange blessing in the tragedy that has thrown them into each other’s arms. Without the hope of a future together in their own world, they begin to wonder—would they be better off staying here forever?

Everything changes when they uncover the truth behind the chilling whispers that haunt their every step. Lilac and Tarver may find a way off this planet. But they won’t be the same people who landed on it.

A timeless love story, THESE BROKEN STARS sets into motion a sweeping science fiction series of companion novels. The Starbound Trilogy: Three worlds. Three love stories. One enemy.

~My Thoughts~

  I originally heard about this book because of booktube. Everyone has been talking about it and I was curious to find out if all the hype was worth it. I picked this book up at my library a few months back in the new release section and scooped it up as fast as I could.

  So in the past I have had trouble really getting into anything Science Fiction. Usually I have trouble appreciating books focused in space. This book on the other hand I think is great for all people from avid readers of Sci-Fi to people who haven’t read Sci-Fi before or never liked one before. This book is not to heavy on scientific facts or overly dense which i have often had trouble with in the Sci-Fi genre

   These Broken Stars is told in switching perspectives of Lilac and Tarver. This book starts off with Lilac and Tarver traveling on a spaceship, The Icarus. The two couldn’t be any different. Lilac is the only daughter of the most powerful man in the galaxy while Tarver is a military kid from poor parents. The Icarus is the most advance and expensive ship of its time. Everything is going great until The Icarus crash lands on a unfamiliar planet. As the only survivior Tarver and Lilac have to work together to survive.

   Lilac was everything you expected her to be in the beginning: Rich, spoiled, and a brat. Hurting people and believing she’s better than everyone was effortless for her. Yet, surprisingly there is a hidden kindness inside of her. The best part of her is the fact that she slowly peeled back her layers. She didn’t just switch personalities because she was away from everyone she knew but gradually changed. For me I have to applaud Spooner and Kaufman for working it out like that.

   Tarver was a amazing male lead for sure one of my favorites I read so far for the year. He was both intelligent and quick witted with great remarks. He also happens to be well adapted to the wilderness lucky for them.

  I loved there relationship it was so imperfectly perfect. I’ll admit I love a good book were the main characters start off hating each other and gradually fall in love and this book didn’t disappoint. I hadn’t found a book in YA that made that kinda relationship work for me before. Usually the relationship is rushed and then becomes unrealistic because of it. They fell in love slowly making it believable for me plus its known fact that disasters make your emotions stronger which made the relationship more intense.

The pacing for the was perfect, I did not want to put this down. It started slower and then picked up but I never found a dull moment. This was the perfect Sci-Fi survival story. Everyone should give it a go.

~Quotes~

“Where will I sit?” Sit? Why, on this comfortable chaise longue I’ve carried here for you in my pocket, Your Highness, so glad you asked. I clamp my mouth shut, struggling not to say it aloud.”

“Your key concerns at that stage?” “Well, Miss LaRoux had a party she didn’t want to miss, and I—” “Major, you don’t seem to understand the seriousness of your situation.” “Sure I do. What the hell do you think our key concerns were?

 

“We’re in luck. This place looks like it’s terraformed. There must be sensors for checking the air quality outside.” “There are,” she agrees. “But the electrical surge fried them. We don’t need them, though. It’s safe.”

“Glad you’re so sure, Miss LaRoux,” I retort before I can stop myself. “I think I’d rather an instrument told me so. Not that I don’t trust your extensive training.” Her eyes narrow, and if looks could kill, then toxic atmospheres would be the least of my problems.”

Have you read These Broken Star? What did you think?

sig

5 thoughts on “Review: These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

  1. I’ve yet to actually read this book. I’ve been putting it off … I also heard the book was mostly dialogue, I don’t exactly know how I feel about that, but your review made me want to give it a try!

    Like

Leave a Reply

