R&R · Reviews

R&R Harrow by Amanda Troyer

Title: Harrow
Author: Amanda Troyer
Genre: YA Horror
Format: Ebook
Source: Author
Rating:2 and a half stars

Synopsis

Sixteen-year-old Brenna doesn’t believe her vivid imagination can hurt her, until she wakes up in a church, covered in blood. Blood that isn’t hers.

She thinks her life can’t get much worse, but when she finally finds a way to escape her abusive home, her imagination turns to nightmarish hallucinations.

Niven likes staying inside the abandoned church, hiding from his violent father. The two bond through art and misery, but Brenna knows good things in her life don’t last long.

Her delusions take a horrific turn when she thinks she sees two men gruesomely murdered by a monster in the church basement, but in the end, she’s the one with blood on her hands.

~I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review~

My Thoughts

The original reason I picked up this book is because of this gorgeous cover. It looked really promising so I picked it up.

This book’s pacing is  super slow. The real action didn’t happen until about 60% in. With that being said I felt some of the events were needed before we got to the action but some wasn’t,  A lot of plots were introduced and they were interesting but I felt they were left unresolved. According to Goodreads this is a standalone so the lack of resolution is a big problem for me.  The events that were added were really interesting but were left open ended. I’m a strong believer if your going to add plot/event they have to be resolved by the end of the book unless its a series. Unfortunately there is no information I am aware of that this book could be a series.

The horror factor in this book didn’t really appeal to me. I love a good psychological kinda mess with your head kinda book and this wasn”t that at all.  I can’t say that I was creeped out or bothered by the scenes of this book at all. Some of the scenes in this book were really hard to picture and thus hard to follow. Especially the action scenes towards the end of the book.

The minor characters didn’t feel like they were hashed out. One scene would start to dive into the characters behavior and why they are who they are but then was abruptly cut off and the story would move forward. This made it really hard to care about these characters even when something happened to them.

The ending of this book was pretty decent actually. I hadn’t predicted some of the events towards the end and I really liked that. The end seemed like something you would see at the end of a horror movie and I really appreciated. 

Overall this book was interesting but not something I would usually enjoy.

sig

 

2 thoughts on “R&R Harrow by Amanda Troyer

Leave a Reply

