R&R · Reviews

R&R Review: Deep Blue by Jules Barnard

 Title: Deep Blue
Author: Jules Barnard
Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance
Format: Ebook
Source: Author
Rating: star-4-half

Synopsis

First loves, second chances…

When Cali Morgan kicks off her perfect post-college summer in Lake Tahoe, she has everything she ever wanted: acceptance into a top law program, a gorgeous boyfriend, and an incredible summer planned with her best friend.

Confident about her place in the world, Cali makes it her mission to be her friend’s wingwoman and help her meet guys. What Cali doesn’t count on is running into Jaeger Lang, one of her older brother’s high school friends, or the sparks that fly when she’s around him.

Jaeger has changed, and it’s not just the added height and muscle. There’s something about him that’s deep and a little scarred. In spite of the changes, Jaeger becomes a top pick for her friend—if Cali can keep her hands off him.

But when Cali’s boyfriend dumps her and her carefully laid plans begin to unravel, she finds herself questioning what it is she truly desires. In the midst of doubts about her future, one thing is very clear: she wants Jaeger for her own. The question is, has her friend already fallen for him?

Deep Blue is book #1 in the Blue Series.

This New Adult book is intended for readers over the age of 18 due to adult language, sexual content, and adult situations.

~I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review~

My Thoughts

*The rating of this book was bumped up half a star because I can’t stop thinking about it.*

OK, so I am totally loving all of the contemporary romances I’m reading right now. This is no difference. As soon as I finished this one I started the next in the series which in its self might tell you all you need to know about my thoughts.

The main character is Cali and i liked her. She was an interesting character who was okay honestly. I just wish she would listen to her instincts more. Through out a good portion of the book she has these feelings but continues to ignore them and it was frustrating. A lot of the problems she faced could of been avoided if she just followed her guts.

Our love interest is Jaegar and what can I say other than I adored him.  Jaegar was such a sweetheart who was once a snowboarder and now a woodwork artist. I love that he wasn’t a bad boy or a player(in present time). Don’t get me wrong I love a well written bad boy/ player who becomes reformed because of the right women. But Jaegar wasn’t either of those and I loved that and it was really refreshing. Plus it also had one of my favorite theme in it which is the brother’s best friend.

The plot was okay for sure not the best but it was good. Cali starts off thinking that Jaegar would make a awesome choice in boyfriend material for her best friend even though she is clearly attracted to him and he is into her too. So basically we have lots of tension between the two and then some more crazy things happen after that but I don;t want to spoil that for anyone.

I also loved learning about the secondary characters in this book because I know that they are getting their own book in the series later. They were really well developed and storylines are touched on briefly in this one making me want to pick up their stories as soon as possible.

This was absolutly great to read I really enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone who loves a good contemporary romance.

*I am currently reading Blue Crush the second in the series and currently waiting for book 3 to be published.*

 sig

3 thoughts on “R&R Review: Deep Blue by Jules Barnard

Leave a Reply

