R&R · Reviews

R&R Review: A Demon in Love by Holley Trent

Title: A Demon in Love
Author: Holley Trent
Series: Sons of Gulielmus #2
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Format: Ebook
Source: author
Rating:four-stars

Synopsis

Charles Edison has spent most of his 123 years courting women for Hell. As a faithful son of the demon Gulielmus, he’s never known true affection for women. Which is funny, seeing as how he’s descended from a love god on his mother’s side. Now that he sees his brother falling head over heels, Charles wants the same for himself. He wants to belong to someone.

The Fates conspire to right old wrongs, and Charles learns the woman destined for him is one he shouldn’t want. Marion Wilder’s family has been on the supernatural Most Wanted List for twenty-five years because they were responsible for the demise of a demon. Gulielmus would kill her if he had the chance.

But Marion’s the only human woman Charles can touch without harming. She’s his one chance at having a normal life and a real family, and he would give up anything to keep her. Even his father’s favor.

My Thoughts

A Demon in Love is the second book in a series and I wasn’t aware of that when I received it. With that being said I felt that the author explained enough of what happened in the first book that I wasn’t left scratching my head in confusion. I really want to read the first book though to hear the story of Charles’ brother and his mate.

I really liked this more than I thought I would like it. It ended up with some cliches in it that bother me and I was kinda upset that they were there. Since it is a major aspect of the book I don’t want to give away any of the  plot since it takes a while before this event happens. With that being said I really liked the way it was done. It wasn’t used as a ploy to rope in or hero but actually moved the plot forward so other events could happen and I loved that.

Marion is such an awesome female lead. She was strong and snarky and even though she was confused and liked a guy she didn’t give up who she was or  what she believed for a guy and I really appreciate that. Charles was an interesting character as well. I really wish that we got more time in his head. The story was mostly told from Marion’s POV and I really would of loved to see it more in his head.

I would for sure say that this book is more a romance and coming into who you are story than anything thing else. Which is fine but I wish that that the plans that the brothers were participating was a bigger part of the story. I really liked the hints of what they were up to and wish more was mentioned.

I plan to read more of this series in the future to find out the brothers  stories as well as to see glimpses of Charles and Marion. I liked this if  you are looking for a nice paranormal romance than you should check this one out.

sig

2 thoughts on “R&R Review: A Demon in Love by Holley Trent

Leave a Reply

