Interview

Author Interview: Gary Gedall

interview

Hi Gary, thank you for agreeing to this interview. Tell us a little about yourself and your background?

I was born in Manchester UK, father a jazz drummer, mother a record shop owner. My father had a car accident when I was 3 and took over the shop. We moved often, depending on the ups and downs of my father’s businesses. I went to boarding school between the ages of 9 and 15, where we performed plays twice a year and where I started writing poetry. I also spent 2 afternoons copying down everything that people said – my first literary exercises. After I changed schools, I continued to perform in plays; once I performed in three different plays, (for different companies), in the space of 5 weeks. At 17, I wrote, directed and acted in a short film. Before leaving for university, I started to plan to write a new theatre version of Jekyll and Hyde, (which I haven’t yet given up the idea to create!). Throughout my university days, I continued to act and to write plays, (none performed). After Uni, I travelled around, working in many different professions, I became a Brook Street Office Temp, computer network manager and computer programmer, professional psychic, Laurel & Hardy exhibition manager etc.

After some years I ended up as an associate member of the Findhorn (Spiritual) Community, where I met a Swiss medical student who was passing through. At 38, I moved to Switzerland, knowing hardly any French, I enrolled in the University Of Lausanne and began studying Psychology.  The rest – so they say, is history…

 

 

What are your ambitions for your writing career?

To be successful enough to eventually live by my writing. (Please don’t tell my patients this, some of them expect me to continue indefinitely).

Which writers inspire you?

Some of the Harry Potter books are excellent, as are parts of the Hitchhikers Guild to the Galaxy. In my youth, I read all of Isaac Asimov, Agatha Christie and H. G. Wells as well as many, many other writers of genres.

So, what have you written?
(*Include books, novellas, short stories, poems, blogs, awards or anything of interest.)

For a reasonably full list of all that I written, see the ‘Creative’ page on my personal website www.garygedall.com

These include poetry, plays, film scripts, songs, short stories, comedy pieces and books.

My two published works to date are ‘Remember’ and ‘Adventures with the Master’

Where can we buy or see them? (* include American, European and any other relevant links. Free, free promotions or prices can be included)

Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Remember-Stories-poems-self-help-development/dp/2940535019/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1410379597&sr=8-1&keywords=gary+gedall

http://www.amazon.com/Adventures-With-Master-Edward-Gedall/dp/2940535000/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1410379597&sr=8-2&keywords=gary+gedall

 

What are you working on at the minute?
A new book – ‘The Island of Serenity’

What’s it about? (*if relevant)

Pierre-Alain James ‘Faron’ Ferguson is about to commit suicide, in his suicide note he attempts to understand how he has come to have wrecked both his own life, but also all of those around him.

Pierre-Alain James ‘Faron’ Ferguson finds himself in a type of ‘no-mans-land’, between here and there, he must accept to visit the 7 islands before he will be allowed to continue on to his next steps. The islands are named; Survival, Pleasure, Esteem, Love, Expression, Insight and lastly, the Island of Serenity.

Pierre-Alain James ‘Faron’ Ferguson has left a will; all the important persons from his life have been summoned to the reading of his testament. They are informed that there exists substantial amounts of money and property, which they will be entitled to a share of, but only, and after, all of them accept to welcome into their lives, on every level, the bearded, quietly spoken monk present at the reunion.  As all of them have already had their lives ruined by Pierre-Alain, they hesitate to accept the offer, but, maybe, with the help of this mysterious stranger, just maybe, they could turn their lives around …

 

  • So far I have finished the first four chapters, (although the first two are only a few pages each). The work in progress can be accessed from the site islandofserenity.com

 

What genre are your books?

My books tend to be linked to some sort of voyage of self / spiritual development, wrapped up in a heavy blanket of humour and adventure. However, I do have other types of books in the works …

Everything about my life; my work as a therapist, including the use of hypnosis, my on-going, wide interest in spirituality, my love of story-telling and joking, and finally my desire to break all the rules.

Which actor/actress would you like to see playing the lead character from your most recent book?

I have film /TV project in which I could well see Glen Close playing the lead role.

When did you decide to become a writer?

That is a most stupid question, one does not decide to become a writer, or any other artist for that matter, we are those that have drawn the ‘short straw’. We are the heroes of ancient myths and legends, we have been chosen by a God, a muse, we have never asked for these tasks, challenges or quests, some are born artists, some become artists, but we all have art thrust upon us.

I have always been a writer, it took me 57 years to dare to admit it.

Why do you write?

Because I have no choice! And I like to teach and entertain myself and others.

Do you read much and if so who are your favourite authors.

I have pretty much no time to read at all.

For your own reading, do you prefer ebooks or traditional paper/hard back books?

I have not yet, ever, read an e-book.

 

What book/s are you reading at present?

None

 

How are you publishing this book and why?
(*e.g. Indie, traditional or both)

I have created my own publishing company, I got frustrated trying to publish two other books before, and I didn’t wish to waste my time and energy writing to dozens of publishing houses, only to get turned down because; I am not yet known, I am not writing to a big, main stream public, I have no resources, (time, money, contacts), to offer as a personal selling campaign and I cannot promise to drop everything in my regular life so as to do that.

 

 

What would you say are the main advantages and disadvantages of self-publishing against being published or the other way around?

By publishing my own books, I can at least have the satisfaction that it has an imprint of a publisher even if in reality, it is only my own.  Of course, the down side of this, is that it is incredibly hard to get known to a public, which is why ‘Author interviews’ are such precious aids and the support of book bloggers is so important. (Thanks Arya)

 

How do you market your books?

I have my books for sale through Amazon and sell them directly.

Why did you choose this route?

Because I can see no other, at this time. I have contacted some US publishers and distributors to see if they might be interested in adding my books to their catalogues, but still no takers.

(If any of you readers might have any interesting ideas, please feel free to contact me).

What part of your writing time do you devote to marketing your book?

I would prefer, as little as possible, but over the past few weeks, I have spent quite some time on the internet.

What do you do to get book reviews?

At this time I have put a free copy of my last book, (Adventures of the Master), on the web, if anyone would wish to review it, they can contact me at gary.gedall@bluewin.ch, for the download link.

How successful has your quest for reviews been so far?

Not wonderful.

Do you have a strategy for finding reviewers?

I look for bloggers that might be open to review books

What are your thoughts on good/bad reviews?

I must admit that I might prefer good reviews …

In what formats is your book available?

Paper back and e-book

What advice would you give to aspiring writers?

If you’ve got to write, then write. What-ever happens to your writing afterwards, at least it now exits and you can read it and share it with others. To expect to sell your work and become known, is a totally different story, but before you can sell anything, you need to have created it first.

Where do you see publishing going in the future?

Much more digital, with different, newer styles. Much more shorter, consumable, easily digestible works.

 

How can readers discover more about you and you work?

Websites:

Personal                                   http://www.garygedall.com

Publishing:                              www.fromwordstoworlds.com

Latest book:                             www.islandofserenity.com
Blog:                      https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7477541.Gary_Edward_Gedall/blog
Facebook:             https://www.facebook.com/gary.gedall
Lnkedin:                https://www.linkedin.com/pub/gary-gedall/27/484/58a
Amazon Author Page:
Goodreads:           https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7477541.Gary_Edward_Gedall

You tube:

 

Adventures with the Master

Ch 1 The Sickly Child pts 1 & 2

 

Ch 3 The line of Red and Black

 

The Writing of

http://youtu.be/WISrG8TkwRA

 

The Audition

 

The Audition – Interview with Jennifer

Thank you so much Gary for letting me interview you! I have a copy of Gary’s book to read and review and a review will hopefully be up soon make sure you check it out! This is my first interview so hope everyone enjoyed it. If you are an author and you would like to be interviewed by me check out my policy page for my email.

sig

One thought on “Author Interview: Gary Gedall

Leave a Reply

