Reviews

Review: A Delightful Arrangment by Cecilia Gray

Title: A Delightful Arrangement
Author: Cecilia Gray
Genre: Historical Romance
Series: The Gentleman Next Door #1
Format: Ebook
Source: Netgalley
Rating:
3.5

Synopsis

Phillip has a duty to marry Francesca. He has always protected his former neighbor and childhood companion, and now that she is of marriageable age, he will give her what she needs most – a real home where she is welcome and wanted.

Unfortunately for him….she is done with being dutiful.

After years of being an obedient daughter to a hateful father, Francesca jumps into her first Season. Francesca is ready to dance every dance, flirt with every bachelor and snatch what she wants most – a man she loves who will make her swoon.

Unfortunately for her…he now sees making her swoon as his duty, too.

And Phillip takes his duties very seriously.

* * *

Don’t miss The Gentlemen Next Door series, because sometimes a lady in need of love need look no further than next door. The Gentlemen Next Door Series are historical regency romance novellas.

review

This was the first book I was accepted for on Netgalley and I was so excited to start this one!

I really like the covers on this whole series they are so simple and colorful and really draw your eyes to them.

When it comes to historical fiction books its usually hit or miss with me. I like to believe that I am a history buff and I expect my books that I read to be historically sound.  With that being said this historical book has little to do with historical events which is great for me because I do prefer that the relationship between characters be the focus for a book.

I liked both of our leads they were solid likable people. I preferred our hero more than Francesca. Which is not really a surprise  I almost always love the hero before the heroine. Phillip was such a loveable character he felt so aloof at first and then he was snarky and sassy and I love that! He also was driven in what he wanted and that is absolutely amazing I love characters having drive. He also fell in love first which I personally love it keeps him on his toes and its fun to watch him obsess over her.

Francesca was an OK character I liked her! I get why she wanted to have her own life, wanted to decide her life and who she married. Her mission to be swooned is awesome and hilarious.

The ending of the book felt a little bit rushed. I would of enjoyed it if the end scenes were drawn out a little bit more. A few history facts were a little bit off as well but understandable and them being different helped the story be the story it was meant to be.

Childhood friends into something more is a theme in books that I absolutely love. When characters realize that  they have always had feelings for each other and never realized it is a really fun concept to me.

I really liked Chasity as well. She’s Franny friend who basically knows that the two of them are meant for each other and she added a layer of depth. I believe that Chasity gets her own story in this series and I am really looking forward to reading her own story!

This is the first book I had read by Cecilia Gray and it will most likely not be my last I really liked her writing style and the characters she has written are really relate-able.

I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a nice light historical romance.

sig

2 thoughts on “Review: A Delightful Arrangment by Cecilia Gray

Leave a Reply

