R&R · Reviews

R&R Review: Shade by Marilyn Peake

Title: Shade
Author: Marilyn Peake
Genre:  Young Adult: Mystery/Paranormal
Format: Ebook
Source: Author
Rating: 2.5

Synopsis

Thanks to her offbeat mother, Shade’s full name is Galactic Shade Griffin. Having a name like that while being the new girl in school is pretty much catnip for bullies. The summer before Shade’s junior year of high school, her mother breaks up with yet another boyfriend and moves them once again to a new town.

This time, they move into a dilapidated old house where Shade has an entire attic bedroom to herself—at least until she discovers it’s haunted by the ghost of a teenaged boy named Brandon Yates. When Shade’s best friend goes missing, her life becomes even more complicated. With the help of Brandon who’s struggling with his own issues in the world beyond, Shade faces the question of whether or not she has what it takes to become a true hero.

Although this novel deals with a number of serious issues—drug and alcohol abuse, cutting, and disturbing world events—it’s primarily a novel about a teenaged girl finding out who she really is and that she’s capable of so much more than she ever thought possible.

SHADE is a Young Adult novel: Mystery with Paranormal elements.

review

This cover is really gorgeous! Its really compelling and my eye was immediately drawn to it! I can’t even imagine how amazing this book would be in person.  Its just striking and I feel that it goes with the premise of this book.

Most of this book was focused on the life of a teenager and how it sucks! As well as our main Shade dealing(not really) with her mother who is a druggie and alcoholic. Shade grows as a character and makes friends and becomes rather happy with her life until her best friend is kidnapped.

The mystery of this book was OK it wasn’t great! I found a lot of it was predictable. I liked that the paranormal element helped move the case along but it felt like the mains didn’t really do anything to solve the case other than whatever the ghosts said to do.

The ghost aspect also lacked in my opinion. I wanted to see Shade actually help Brandon but it didn’t really happen. His story line kinda just fell into place. Shade’s reaction to a ghost just falling into her life was also really strange she basically didn’t react at all and I felt that it was unbelievable.

My favorite part of this book was Shade and her school life I liked watching her become friends with different characters and come into who she is a person. The writing was also pretty good. I read the whole of this book in one sitting so I rather enjoyed the writing style and I was invested in seeing how the story went.

I think I would of liked this story a little bit more if there was one more chapter to fill in some of the loose ins that I didn’t feel were quite resolved. I think this book is mainly being used to set up the rest of the books in the series and give us a little taste of what is to come. Of the information I am aware of  there is planned 5 more books in the series! At this time I do plan to at least pick up the next book in the series and decide from there if i will be continuing the series or not.

sig

Leave a Reply

