Reviews

Review: Less than Nothing by R.E. Blake

Title: Less than Nothing
Author: R.E. Blake
Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance
Series: Less than Nothing #1
Format: Ebook
Source: Netgalley
Rating:4

Synopsis

Sage’s life as a teenage runaway in San Francisco is simple: Snatch a few hours of sleep on park benches and bus stops; dodge perverts, predators, and cops; and make enough as a street musician to eat. But her world flips upside down when she meets Derek – hot, tattooed, and charming, a singer from Seattle whose looks and talent take her breath away.

What begins as a reluctant partnership quickly develops into a cross-country race against time – and awakens a hunger in Sage that’s unfamiliar and exciting.

As they travel from coast to coast, Sage and Derek pursue their dream, only to discover that they can never run far enough to escape the demons from their pasts.

Less Than Nothing is the breakout debut NA novel from USA Today bestseller R.E. Blake that critics are buzzing about and readers can’t put down. Sage & Derek’s story continues in More Than Anything (book 2) and Best of Everything (book 3).

review

I’ve gone a little bit Netgalley crazy in the last few weeks. Honestly though there are so many awesome titles out there that I just can’t help myself right now!

Less Than Nothing has a beautiful cover! I admit it I judge books by there cover. I don’t think it portrays the story perfectly but I still really liked it and it made me really interested in finding out about the book.

Anyways I really liked this book it was interesting to read and defiantly fit the bill for what I was looking for. I was really worried that this would be to cliche for me but it ended up being  better than I originally hoped for.

Sage and Derek are both homeless individuals which is a topic I have never read before.

I really liked Sage most of the time she thought about herself and wasn’t wrapped around Derek’s finger like a lot of leading women are in New Adult and Young Adult. When she had to do what was best for her she did without worrying about her love interest and that was really awesome and admirable. Since the event I am talking about is rather late in the book I won’t share but Derek does something that could ruin everything for both of them and Sage does whats best for her!

After Sage decides herself is more important the book changes from a romance to a more self growth journey. Sage finds that she is a great musician on her own as well as the fact that she can do this on her own without needing Derek to succeed.

Some of the problems the characters faced were solved rather conveniently. I was expecting a little deeper method to solve Sage’s problem with the talent show. At first it was going towards a more interesting method but then it switched to a more convenient way to solve the problem.

About two thirds in to the book Sage’s attitude towards Derek changed and every thought she had was about Derek and wanting him and her to get together which was really annoying until Derek messed up.

Okay, I feel like I was bashing Derek without meaning to Derek was a good character. Seeing the story from Sage’s POV I can understand why she acted the way she did and honestly I might of too if I was in the same situation. If you look at it from his point of view though I get it! A lot of things happen that lead up to the moment and I see where he came from and more of his history is shared later in the book and that adds to that concept as well. Derek was a likable love interest overall and I am glad to read about him.

When I accepted this book from Netgalley I didn’t know that this was a series that followed  the same characters throughout the whole series. I expected it to follow the trends of each book following different characters but it didn’t. I don’t know how I feel about that. I liked the ending it was kinda mysterious in the since . I also have a fear of second books in series! They almost never live up to my expectations and let me down. A lot of drama unfolds without a real reason. With that being said I don’t know if I will be continuing this series or not. i was happy with the ending and I can happily leave it the way it is but I never know I might crave so Sage and Derek and pick up the next book in the series!

This was a decent book I liked it! It had good moments and parts I rolled my eyes at but it wasn’t nearly as hard to get through as some other books.

I would recommend it to anyone who wants to read about musicians,homeless teens, or New Adults lovers

sig

2 thoughts on “Review: Less than Nothing by R.E. Blake

Leave a Reply

