Reviews

Review: Shameless by Nina Lemay

Title: Shameless 
Author: Nina Lemay
Genre: New Adult Romance
Format: Ebook
Source: Xpresso Book Tours
Rating:3
Synopsis

~New Adult Contemporary Romance — recommended for mature readers~

Girls like me don’t get happy endings.

I know what I am. At worst a cliché, at best a cautionary tale. I put an international border between me and my past, only to wind up working in a low-end titty bar. Even my excuse is as lame as it gets: I’m paying for college, getting my art degree from Montreal’s most prestigious school. Although some days it becomes confusing: am I just a student who moonlights as a stripper, or a stripper who masquerades as a student?

But the inevitable happens and my two lives collide. And now there’s one other person who knows both the quiet, antisocial Hannah and the sensual, shameless Alicia. One person who keeps my secret.

He’s beautiful, he’s sophisticated. He comes from the other side of life, the one where I’m not wanted or accepted. But he calls me la petite Américaine, and his hot, hot hands on my skin promise me things I long ago gave up on.

The problem? He teaches my Classic Photography class.

This is a standalone novel, no series, no cliffhanger.

review

Woah I was really excited about this book! Overall I was “OK” with this book but I had a major turn off later in the book that made me unhappy. I’ll get to that later though.

I was really interested to see how a story about a stripper ,which I can’t say I have ever read a book featuring one, would turn out with one of my favorite concepts of  forbidden love, student and teacher relationships.

This book isn’t anything life changing but for the most part I really liked it and it was entertaining to read. A lot of this book had me rolling my eyes and laughing over stupid things that the main was thinking or planning to do. I like books that are clique sometimes and this felt okay for me at the time. Until it wasn’t half of the fun of forbidden love stories is the two in love characters trying to survive as a couple againsts the thoughts of others and thats why I love it! The characters stick together no matter what the rest of the world thinks and its great. That didn’t happen in this one though!

Emmanuel the male lead rubbed me the wrong way after a scene where he basically threats the main that he was going to reveal Hannah’s secret. In exchange for his silence she had to preform sexual acts and I didn’t really like it.  A lot of reviews I have seen don’t talk about this so maybe it wasn’t a big deal to them but I didn’t like it and it resulted in me lowering my rating.

This really wasn’t my favorite forbidden romance and wouldn’t be the first I would recommend to someone else. If you do like the forbidden romance theme than you might like this one as well. You should check out some of the reviews on Goodreads if you are still into this book a lot of people have really enjoyed this book.

sig

4 thoughts on “Review: Shameless by Nina Lemay

  1. This cover is amazing! Girl you are just like me. I loveeeee me a student, teacher relationship story! So far the best one I’ve read was Unteachable by Leah Raeder, it’s soooo good. If you haven’t read it, I recommend you to pick it up. I’m really intrigued by this story, especially since she’s a stripper, so I’m definitely adding this to me TBR. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

    1. Yay! i haven’t had anyone who liked student,teacher relationships stories before! I have Unteachable on my TBR I got a copy for review from netgalley for the re-release and haven’t gotten to it yet! I will for sure bump it up on my TBR since you like it so much!

      Like

Leave a Reply

