Reviews

Review: Elise’s Choice


Title:Elise’s Choice
Author: Rachel M. Stiber
Genre:Young Adult / Fantasy
Format: ebook
Source: Author
synopsis

A stranger A legend A choice that will change Elise’s world Elise and her best friend Anton grew up in the medieval village of Petheralm, where life, though hard, is good. When a stranger arrives in her village injured and unconscious, Elise is taken in by his handsome face and sweet demeanor. However, according to ancient legend, the forest surrounding their small town is enchanted, and any stranger unworthy to enter the village would be stopped there. The village is leery of this stranger and want nothing more than for him to leave. Elise pays no mind to the silly legend, and is shocked to discover that he’s no ordinary peasant as everyone first thought. Before the stranger is strong enough to leave Petheralm, she is forced to make a startling choice between following her dreams and following her heart. Although Elise feels strongly that she made the correct choice, the day soon comes when she and everyone she loves must deal with the repercussions of her choice.

review

I was really excited to start reading this book. I don’t read a lot of Medieval based books so I was really excited to read this one when I heard about this one. Based on the description I was expecting something really different than what I got but I am really excited that it didn’t follow my expectations because I think I would of been rather disappointed.

Anyways, I really liked the way this story was set up. It starts with a young girl receiving a book on her birthday and we then precede to read the book with her. I really liked the concept of a story inside of a story.

At first I was expecting a cutesy kinda book where the main falls in love early and everything is basically great for her but a lot of things happened and it wasn’t a cheesy happily ever after. It ended up being really interesting and more than I was expecting.

In the prologue we follow a character receiving a book for her birthday and then the main story is the story the book contains. If you pay attention to what is going on in the prologue than than most of the book is pretty predictable but it was still interesting to see how the characters interact and grow.

For me this book dragged longer than I would prefer. Basically from the beginning we know who our main Elise is going to marry and it took us about 50% of the book to get there and then the next 40% of the book was them being happy and living their life. The last 10% of the book was the action part of the book and where everything becomes interesting. You get the why the book is titled the way it is as well as the synopsis finally starts to make since which is always appreciated.

Until I got closer to the end of this book I was pretty sure I would rate this book lower than I decided to but as I got closer to the end of the book I realized why it was written the way that it was. Not that it couldn’t of been shortened at least a little bit but it became clear on why some of the information was added.  I read the majority of this book in one sitting so I can’t complain to much because I was drawn into the story and I didn’t really want to put down this book until I finished it and nothing could of ripped me away from this book once I got to the end of the book!

Overall, rather enjoyable read. Glad I got the chance to read this book!
This is probably more of a 3.5 stars than 4 stars for me!

starstarstarstar

Leave a Reply

