Uncategorized

Bookish Resolutions for 2015

Because reading is better than real life

2015 Resolutions Challenge

As we start a new year, Laura of Trips Down Imagination Road and Michelle of Because Reading is Better than Real Life are hosting a different kind of challenge for 2015. The jist of it is to share between two and five things you want to do more / better on your blog, or something you want to change of start doing in 2015.


Rules:

1.    Create between 1 and 5 resolutions related to books/book blogging (there are examples below but you can make up your own)

2.    If you have 2 or more resolutions than 1 can be unrelated to books/book blogging

3.    Create a sign up post and add it to the Linky on this post (sign up before Feb 1st)

4.    On the 30th of each month (and the 28th for February) create an update post about your goals and add the post to the Linky that will be on Laura’s or My blogs

5.    This is a year long challenge, so you can’t add resolutions that could be done in a day these must be year long goals.

6.    For each goal you complete you get one entry into the giveaway that will be in our wrap up post on December 31, 2015

– See more at: http://www.becausereading.com/2015bookreschallenge/#sthash.EeiIsz7C.dpuf


I thought it would be a great idea to a few New Year Resolutions for my blog. Since I started my blog on a whim this year I have been flying off the seat of my pants. I’ve been going with the flow so far and I think having a few goals to be striving for will make my blog a “better” place. Having a group of people also striving to make their own resolution in this challenge might help me to push myself to actually keep on track

Resolution #1
Read a total of 200 “books”(Goodreads Challenge)

Woah, 200 books. I did the math and to make the goal to read at least 200 books in the coming year, I would have to read about 4 books a week. The exact amount is less than 4, so I have some bending room when I need it. Anyways, it about 17 books per month which is on average one more than I read per month this year.

Resolution #2
Vary my blog posts!

All of this year I have mostly just posted book reviews and blog tours. Which I enjoy and have fun writing and participating in but I want to share more and have some more interesting posts as well. I’ve been meaning to write some discussion posts and participate in more things like memes and tags but I just never got around to it so I for sure want to have some fun with some new types of posts.

Resolution #3
Get my Netgalley ratio 80% or higher!

I don’t have a lot of books from Netgalley to read and review but I just want to have my ratio up higher. I currently have only 7 books to read but I want to try to maintain a low pile of TBR books here. Until I go click crazy again in the future and lower my Netgalley ration again! :p

Resolution #4
Organize my blog and be more active in blogging world!

A lot of things on my blog need to be updated and maintained to make it easier for viewers of my blog to truly enjoy it more than they do now. So far I have been really busy and haven’t gotten around to updating some pages on my blog.
I also have a habit of just “creeping” through others blogs without commenting or participating in events and this year I would really like to change that up this and participate more and make some new blogger friends!

Resolution #5
Get Healthier!

For my not so bookish resolution I would love to get healthier. My goal isn’t to lose weight(though that would be awesome) but to feel better about choices I am making. Be it either eating better, exercising, or just making healthier choices. With that being said I have decided to join in the #FitReaders. I watched them have so much fun in 2014 and I would love to join in even if I only can manage to do so casually.

So guys, what are your resolutions for the New Year? Leave a comment below I would love to hear about them!

10 thoughts on “Bookish Resolutions for 2015

  1. This is awesome. I really do hope you can hit that challenge of 100! Boy is that a lot of books xD I’m just going for the usual 100. And I like how you are hoping to be more comment social on blogs and also update a lot. I’m looking forward to it!

    Like

    1. I’m hoping to challenge myself this year so 200 will for sure do that!
      I really feel a little guilty that I haven’t been commenting on people’s blogs even though I do read them 😛 Thanks for commenting and I am really looking forward to your posts this year too!

      Like

  2. Great goals! I just increased my Goodreads goal from 60 to 100 and now I’m worried about if I can’t make it. We’ll just do our best! Good luck on your goals and have a great year!

    Like

    1. Hi Felicia!
      I try to read as much as possible! Any time in between things I have to do like classes and commercial breaks of shows the time really starts to add up! I also have insomnia so I read a lot!
      20-25 books is an awesome amount too. As long as your happy with the amount you read!

      Like

Leave a Reply

