Bookish posts

The Reading Habits Tag

Heeey!
I was not tagged by anyone but I’ve been wanting to do this tag for a really long time and I am really excited to be doing it! I won’t be tagging anyone since this is such a old tag but if you haven’t done this one and would like to consider yourself tagged.

1. Do you have a certain place for reading at home?

Yes, I have a spot on my couch that I like to sit at to read. Its and L-shaped couch and I sit on the end farthest from the T.V. I also have a spot on my grandparents couch I like to read at too! I rarely read in bed because it makes me fall asleep and I don’t get any reading done 😥

2. Bookmark or random piece of paper?

I’m not really picky when it comes to marking my book. Sometimes I just remember the page number, sometimes through my library card or receipt from the library in there. Lately however I have been designing my own bookmarks and am enjoying using them! I bought a decorative box to put them in so I don’t lose them which is why I end up using whatever I can find around me at the time.

3. Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter or a certain number of pages?

I can stop anywhere but I don’t like to. I really like to stop at a new chapter or at a time break so the thought or event can conclude and I can easily move on with the book when I finally get the chance to pick the book up again.

4. Do you eat or drink when reading?

I don’t usually eat that often when I read. Only on really rare occasions does this happen but I usually have some kind of beverage when I read. Since its summer right now I am really into fruity teas and lemonade drinks!

5. Do you watch TV or listen to music whilst reading?

YES, I NEED background noise to be able to focus on reading. I usually turn on the T.V. and have it in the background when i’m reading. I tend to listen to music only if someone is watching something I don’t want to in the background. I like being able to tune it to it when I’m taking a little break from reading!

6. One book at a time or several at once?

Usually one book at a time. I have a really hard time reading multiples at a time. Usually one gets neglected and I focus on one and then read the other. Only exception is for a school read!

7. Reading at home or everywhere?

EVERYWHERE!!! I would never be able to read so many books a year if I didn’t read anywhere I am at. I tend to read during breaks between classes and while riding in cars more than anytime. A lot of my reading time is during the weekend however.

8. Reading out loud or silently in your head?

Silently. I don’t like reading out loud except to my sister who is 2 years old.

9. Do you ever read ahead or skip pages?

Only if I NEED to read the book for some reason and I’m not enjoying it. This is really rare usually I’ll just put down the book if I don’t like it!

10. Breaking the spine or keeping it new?

I am not that picky of a book owner. I love when a book looks brand new but I really don’t mind if my books get wear and tear. You can for sure tell what books of mine were my fav as a kid they aren’t holding up so well now!

11. Do you write in your books?

Not anymore! When I was little my mom and grandma would make all the kids put their name in our books so no one accidentally took the wrong books home. I would love to get a stamp or two to stamp all of my books. I way for them to look a lot more professional on my shelf.

12. What are you currently reading?

Egg & Spoon by Gregory Maguire.

So this was really fun to think about some of the answers. Hope you enjoyed this tag.
Bye xx

~Arya

Leave a Reply

