Bookish posts · R&R · Reviews

I Hate Myselfie by Shane Dawson (Book Review)

Title: I Hate MySelfie: A Collection of Essays.
Author: Shane Dawson
Publisher: Atria/Keywords Press
Pub Date: January 1st 2015
Pages: 228 pages
Source: Library
Rating: 2.5/5 Stars

Synopsis:

The book that more than 12 million YouTube subscribers have been waiting for! Shane Dawson’s memoir features twenty original essays—uncensored yet surprisingly sweet.

From his first vlog back in 2008 to his full-length film directorial debut Not Cool, Shane Dawson has been an open book when it comes to documenting his life. But behind the music video spoofs, TMI love life details, and outrageous commentary on everything the celebrity and Internet world has the nerve to dish out is a guy who grew up in a financially challenged but loving home in Long Beach, California, and who suffered all the teasing and social limitations that arise when you’re a morbidly obese kid with a pretty face, your mom is your best friend, and you can’t get a date to save your life.

In I Hate Myselfie, Shane steps away from his larger-than-life Internet persona and takes us deep into the experiences of an eccentric and introverted kid, who by observing the strange world around him developed a talent that would inspire millions of fans. Intelligent, hilarious, heartbreaking, and raw, I Hate Myselfie is a collection of eighteen personal essays about how messy life can get when you’re growing up and how rewarding it can feel when the clean-up is (pretty much) done.

My Thoughts

When Shane announced that he was releasing a book I was really excited and to be completely honest I was really nervous too. Internet personalities releasing books seem to be a recent trend and as of now I’m not sure how I feel about it yet. Seeing as this is the only one I’ve read by any of them.

I started this book at the introduction (as most people do) and was really excited by what Shane was saying. He mentioned that sometimes he really hated the persona he had created on his channel. This really loud boisterous man who was comfortable in his own skin. A great tie into the title might I mention!

So I thought I would get the real Shane who he claims is more timid and prone to anxiety attacks in this book. However I didn’t get that. I got more of the same. Which of course I love since I watch his videos and follow him and the whole nine yards.!  Though I was really looking forward to a more honest not as comical approach to his life and a more “behind the video” approach.  I wanted the person not the character.

This book is broken up into short essays that  focused on the important parts of Shane’s life. There were some really interesting topics and events that he chided and I’m really glad I got to hear his experiences with them.

My biggest issues with the essays is the lack of seriousness like I said before that’s what I was looking for and I feel the title and the intro misleads you and makes you think your going to get something different than. What I actually got.

I’ve noticed a lot of people who reviewed this book states that they didn’t like the humor in this book but are HUGE fans of Shane.  Which I find really funny because the jokes are 100% him. I don’t know if the formatting of jokes being in paper instead of him saying it is what threw people off or what but most of the jokes in the book are once he uses all of the time. So I found them decent and very Shane.

Shane did talk about a lot of interesting things in his book. My favorite was the one on racism.Which was when it blew up on Twitter that Shane was racist (spoiler he’s not).  He made a lot really great points that I really appreciated. That I don’t think some people realize. This essay alone made this book worth a read.

Unfortunately I can’t rate this book very highly because I was highly let down. I felt we were lead to believe the book was suppose to be one thing and ended up being another.  I’m still a big fan so if he ever writes another book I would for sure pick it up!

I gave this book a 2.5 stars rating.

2 and a half stars

Next up in my Youtuber book reading is In Real Life by Joey Graceffa

~Arya

button

Leave a Reply

