Bookish posts

Review: Not The One By Amy Daws

98998-cover2bpicc

Title: Not The One
Author: Amy Daws
Publisher: Stars Hollow Publishing
Pub Date: December 7th 2015
Pages: 334
Source: Author
Format: E-Arc
Rating: 5/5 Stars

Synopsis

*My name is Reyna Miracle. Even though a part of my name is Miracle, there’s nothing miraculous about me. My body portrays the tales of my life. Every feeling, every heartbreak, every emotion. Marked. Inked. Stained. A walking canvas of my messed up truth. But there’s one confession I can’t put in a tattoo. A confession that will kill me to tell, but my best friend died before I had the chance. Now I’m left with him. The only one who can hold me in the night and squeeze that spot on my neck that feels like my lifeline between sanity and chaos. But we don’t work together. We’re absolute poison for each other. We’re a stifling, suffocating, sickness of darkness. But I feel safe…because I’ve made an art of pushing people away. Now he’s pushing back… And making me believe… Making me wonder… Maybe, just maybe… I could be the one.

 

Woah… Ok so that was a complete whirlwind of emotions!

So I’m going to get this started with a little facts about the series than dive in to the review portion. Not The One is categorized as the 4th book in The London Lovers series. I wouldn’t necessarily say its required to read the other books in the series to pick this one up but it would be Highly Recommended to read in order to fully appreciate the humor and relationships between all of the characters. I would HIGHLY recommend reading the 3rd book, London Bound,  before you read this one! These story both have a plot line in common and take place around the same time but follow different characters. Reading both fills in the holes to the story and answers questions you might of had if you hadn’t read both.

Now that I gotten that huge disclaimer out of the way. I really want to talk about the really awesome parts of this story!

Not The One, is the story of Reyna and Liam. There story is filled with angst and heart wrenching  moments. Both of them are dealing with unresolved feelings from 3 years ago.  There story was so intense and tugged all the feelings from that I was exhausted when I finished reading it.

The story is told in alternating timelines present time and 3 years ago. Slowly the life altering moment that lead Reyna to The Taint bar are revealed and then the story really starts to pick up. I really don’t want to give away any plot so I’ll point you in the direction of the synopsis is you want to see a little about what this is about.

Reyna is are main character in this story. She was a really interesting character to read about. She could be really bold, sarcastic, and unique. However, she was so full of self hatred and guilt and you just wanted to keep reading to find out why she was being so hard on herself and what could of lead to her feeling so low. She was so relatable and there was no quick fix, she didn’t just magically get well she had to fight for it and what she wanted.

Liam was also such a amazing love interest! I love how well matched they felt. He was the perfect match for Reyna. I’m really glad he was the love interest in this book. I really wanted to know what his story was when we first met him in book 2. Like like Reyna 3 years ago has been haunting him and its more than time for it to get resolved.

After reading so much from the same author I tend to worry that new characters voices are going to start blending together. However Amy is really great at making all of her characters voice read so different while keeping the characters feeling fresh and real. Reyna didn’t sound like Finley or Leslie. She had her own unique traits and personality that really mashed with the crew that we’ve already meet in the past.

That leads us into my favorite thing about this series. All of the amazing supporting characters. We get to see all of the characters that were present in the books before this one. Who were so great and always so much fun to see again. There such a great group who really love each other.

Frank is in his own category in this series. He feels like everyone’s guardian angel and I WANT a Frank for myself so much! Frank is such a pivotal character in this series and I’m so happy to see him and he got such a great role in  Reyna’s story! I love seeing him being such a major person to all of the others. Let’s just be real Frank Time is the Best Time!!!!

I feel like I’m jumping around a lot in this review but I really want to mention how great Amy used professional help. It would of been so easy to of cut corners and “magically” fixed Reyna and Liam and but she didn’t she actually took the time let the characters go through therapy and learn from it. They had to grow and proof themselves to each other and it made them so much more believable and lovable.

Hayden was also such a great addition to this story I’m really excited to see Hayden’s story. I really want to peer inside his head and see what he was thinking. We got a little bit of a glimpse of who is might end up with and it has really peeked my curiosities. I will be waiting really (im)patiently to see how his story unfolds.

The London Lovers series was one of the greatest finds for me in 2015 and will no doubt be amazing in 2016. Its one I recommend to everyone to give a shot. Each book deals with really different subjects and the characters are really lovely to get to know. There is a perfect blend of drama, humor, romance, and heat that I think you guys would really appreciate. If you haven’t given this series a shot yet you really should.

~Arya

Leave a Reply

